New Zealand Aeronautical Trusts Ltd

New Zealand Aeronautical Trusts Ltd (NZAT) was incorporated in 1956 as a trustee company to hold the proceeds of the funds raised by the Walsh Memorial Air Pageant Organisation which itself was set up to commemorate the work of Leo and Vivian Walsh.

The function of NZAT is to act as trustees to hold and administer funds lodged with it and to abide by the terms of the several trusts declared at the time of receipt of moneys. Whilst founded on the back of the Walsh Memorial Organisation's efforts, it became convenient to also use the company as the custodian of other funds which were from time to time offered for specific purposes.

The operations of NZAT are quite independent of the Divisional Council, and the Directors are responsible for achieving the aims set down for the Company. The Company seeks to make present and future generations aware of the significant contribution the Walsh brothers made to the development of civil aviation in New Zealand, and where appropriate to act as a vehicle for the management of later Trust funds for individuals acting independently or through the current Divisional Council of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

New Zealand Aeronautical Trusts Ltd administers a number of trusts that are used to encourage excellence in New Zealand and Pacific aviation. These awards are made annually by the New Zealand Division of the Royal Aeronautical Society. Applications must be received by November 30 each year and the awards are made in the first quarter of the following year.

In 2011 awards totalling over $15,000 were made.  

Some of the awards are associated with the Walsh Memorial Flying School organised by Scouts New Zealand 
at Matamata each January. Other awards are:

 ·     George Watt Award; to recognise outstanding technical merit which enhances the efficiency of the

·      Douglas Patterson Award; to encourage persons making a career in aviation in South Pacific countries.

·      Duncan Campbell; two separate awards for young and experienced journalists working in aviation
                                       journalism in New Zealand.

·      Michael J Neville/Boeing Airplane Company Award; to a young person working in  New Zealand

·      Ian J Diamond Award; to a young person, who has completed an apprenticeship or similar in an aviation 
                                            field and wishes to embark on a course of higher academic study leading to a
                                            tertiary qualification in an aviation related subject and with the firm intention of 
                                            participating in New Zealand aviation.

·      E A Gibson Award; for innovation or other form of excellence within the field of agricultural aviation 
                                       in New Zealand.

·      Henry Wigram Award; for the best presentation made during the year to a Branch of the Royal 
                                            Aeronautical Society or at the Symposium

·      Geoffrey Roberts Award; to encourage high performers in the field of aviation in New Zealand.

 The Trust invites and encourages applications for awards in 2012. Full details of the awards, the criteria and the application process are on the Royal Aeronautical Society website at

This Page updated 22 Aug 2012

Copyright  © 2010 Royal Aeronautical Society - New Zealand Division      Websites for accountants by Wolters Kluwer