New Zealand Aeronautical Trusts Annual Awards

NZ Aeronautical Trusts Ltd (NZAT) is an independent Trust Company owned by the RAeS. NZAT has been honouring outstanding achievers in New Zealand and the South West Pacific aviation community since the early 60's when the main Walsh Fund was established as a memorial to the NZ aviation pioneers Leo and Vivian Walsh. In the years that followed several more Trust funds have been added to the portfolio with specific requirements established by the Settlors

NZAT also considers one off grants to assist worthwhile aviation related activities and projects from time to time.

Click here for a list of the awards administered by NZAT.

Click here for APPLICATION procedure and a list of previous NZAT Award winners.

Click here for details on the history and activities of NZAT

Click here for details of the Walsh Memorial Scout Flying School

Who qualifies for an Award?


The Awards recognize the achievements, innovation and excellence of both individuals and organizations. These honours are for achievements and contributions in all disciplines of aviation, including; academia, aircraft maintenance, operations, legal, aerospace manufacturing, air transport, air traffic control, defence, government and research. Some awards are for young people entering the industry and act as encouragement to them as they begin their careers.


Who can nominate for an Award?


Any individual or organization can nominate another individual or organization for an award. 
  Click here for application details.


Who selects the winners?


The Divisional Council and NZAT assess all nominations and select the successful applicants under the terms of the individual award criteria. The Divisional Council also considers nominations for Meritorious Service awards. 


When are the Awards announced?


The Awards approved for any particular Calendar year are usually presented at the Royal Aeronautical Society Annual Dinner which follows the Annual General Meeting and is normally held in the March of the next Calendar year.

All award nominations are acknowledged and successful applicants are invited to the Annual dinner to receive their award.

Page updated 7 July 2018 PB

Copyright  © 2010 Royal Aeronautical Society - New Zealand Division      Websites for accountants by Wolters Kluwer